Adjacent to the Corrotoman and Rappahannock Rivers at the southern tip of the Northern Neck, the village of Weems is a beautiful vestige of the bygone era of steamships and small town America. Numerous historic homes, churches and businesses line Route 222 against the backdrop of the Robert O. Norris Bridge.
It is rumored that the native American population that inhabited this area of the Northern Neck called it the land of peaceful living. Modern-day Weems dates to when John Carter, a member of the House of Burgesses, received a land grant of 4,000 acres and established Corotoman at the mouth of the Rappahannock River in 1649. His son, Robert "King" Carter (1663-1732), built several large homes throughout the Tidewater region, including a short-lived home called "Corotoman" that burned in 1729. Robert "King" Carter served in the House of Burgesses from 1695-1699, and as the Treasurer of the Colony and Acting Governor of Virginia (1726-7). (Sale, Burke) His sons John (Corotoman), Robert (Sabine Hall), George (Nomini), Landon (Clive), and Edward (Blenheim).
In the War of 1812, the Corotoman Plantation suffered a major Brittish raid, with the enemy ships carrying away slaves and livestock. (Butler)
In 1886, John Palmer orchestrated a deal with a steamboat company. If the Mason L. Weems would make regular stops at the wharf of the old Corotoman Plantation, the village would thereafter be known as Weems. (Wilson)
Today, Weems is a small family town at the tip of the Northern Neck peninsula. Bordering towns such as Kilmarnock, Irvington and White Stone are better known and contain more tourist stops, but from the lovable dogs that roam the streets to the charming homes that line the main road, Weems is unique. It carries with it a sense of years gone by - preserving centuries of memories for generations to come.